The 1860, 1870 and 1880 Federal Census of Craighead County, Arkansas was originally extracted, by R L and Flossie Dunnam, from micro-film copies of the original census books. With permission from Mr. & Mrs. Dunnam, the census was reformatted by the Genealogy Society of Craighead County, Arkansas and then reprinted.

We wish to apologize for any errors or omissions that may be found. Some of the entries were illegible due to ink blots, faded ink, poor penmanship, dark copies, and in some cases light copies. In some instances we were unable to decipher the phonetic spelling used by the enumerators. Then of course, there are human and typographical errors.

In 1880 Craighead County now consisted of nine (9) townships and the town of Jonesboro. Our County was growning.

1880 Census (pdf)

1880 Census by Township

1880 Abbreviations (pdf)
1880 Column Information (pdf)
Township Information (pdf)

1880 Jonesboro Township (pdf)
1880 Powell Township (pdf)
1880 Greenfield Township (pdf)
1880 Big Creek Township (pdf)
1880 Texas Township (pdf)
1880 Buffalo Township (pdf)
1880 Lester Township (pdf)
1880 Maumelle Township (pdf)

1880 Index (pdf)

Back to Genealogy Society of Craighead County
P.O. Box 844
Jonesboro, Arkansas 72403